Before jumping into the topic “How to delete WhatsApp Group”, we should first understand what a WhatsApp Group is and the process for exiting one.
Introduction: What is a WhatsApp Group?
A WhatsApp Group is a place for people to communicate with one another. It can be created by an individual or a group of individuals.
First, a WhatsApp Group can be created by:
– A single person who invites other people to join the group.
– A company or organization that invites its employees to join the group by sending out an email and notifying them through their intranet or bulletin board.
– A school, university, or institution that creates the group and sends out invitations through their website and listserve.
Once a person is in the group, they have access to every message that has been sent, since the person joined the group. They can send messages to other members of the group and also receive messages from them via WhatsApp Messenger. And those all messages remain in their gadgets since he/she once opened that and doesn’t delete.
- Check out these posts, you may find interest.
- How to Access WhatsApp on a Computer
- 15 Types Of Social Media Jobs Are Available Online To Aspire A High Career Growth
Criteria To Be Fulfilled To Delete The WhatsApp Group
In this section, we will guide on how to delete WhatsApp groups in order to avoid mistakes and complications.
There are a few but important criteria that must be met when deleting WhatsApp groups:
You should be an Admin role to Delete WhatsApp Group
If you are not an admin of that group, you can’t remove other members and delete that group.
Even if you have created that group, but anyhow you are no longer an admin of that WhatsApp Group, you can’t delete that WhatsApp group.
All the members should be removed from the WhatsApp Group
As the group members already existing in the WhatsApp group and having those messages in their gadgets, they will remain in the group if you remove yourself and delete that WhatsApp Group. It will be deleted on your device and the connection between your WhatsApp Account and that WhatsApp Group will be disconnected.
Check out here How To Download WhatsApp DP Images Of Your And Others
Step By Step Procedure Of How To Delete WhatsApp Group
Please follow the step-by-step procedure to delete WhatsApp groups in order to avoid mistakes and complications. Follow these steps to complete the deletion of the WhatsApp group from all the members’ devices.
A. Remove All The WhatsApp Group Participants
- The WhatsApp group chat should be open and to get to the subject, tap “Group Info.” Alternatively, in the CHATS tab, tap and hold on the group name.
- Tap the participant’s name > Remove (participant) > Select OK to proceed. Do this for all participants one by one.
B. Exit Yourself From The WhatsApp Group
After removing all group participants, you’ll need to exit the group.
- Open WhatsApp and tap the group chat. Alternatively, you can tap and hold the group in the CHATS tab.
- Tap Exit Group > EXIT
C. Delete The WhatsApp Group
After you leave a group, you have the option to delete the group. You can do that immediately after leaving the group or later. If you want to delete later, follow these steps.
- Check the WhatsApp group chat, then tap the subject of the group. Tap and hold the group in the CHATS tab.
- Tap Delete group > DELETE.
We recommend that you don’t delete the group in order to save important updates on your phone. To prevent content from being purged when deleting the group, please make sure “Delete media in this chat” or “Delete media in these chats” are unchecked. For information, you can visit the official site WhatsApp Help Page.
How can I permanently delete my WhatsApp group?
Click on the “GROUP NAME” button at the top of your screen. Scroll down to see the list of participants in your group. You can remove it one at a time by using the down arrow key beside “Participants”. To permanently leave the WhatsApp group, click on the “Exit Group” button
Can you delete a WhatsApp group for everyone?
If you are a group administrator then you can delete the group. To see the delete option, you will need to exit the group after you have removed all participants.
How can I delete a WhatsApp group without leaving it?
It is not possible to delete a group if you have already left it. To get the delete button, you must first leave the group. It’s possible to delete the group only after you have exited it.
How do you permanently delete a group chat?
As soon as you delete the group, you will not be able to see the group chat at all. Although, other users who were in the group, will be able to see the previous group chat unless they delete the group from their phone.